Monday, January 4, 2010

National Society of Film Critics Awards

The awards just keep on coming for Kathryn Bigelow's The Hurt Locker as it picked up yet another Best Picture award from the National Society of Film Critics on Sunday. The society, regrouping critics from the country's top publications, also awarded honors for Bigelow and its star Jeremy Renner as Best Actor. Surprisingly there was a tie in the Best Supporting Actor category, as both Christoph Waltz for Inglourious Basterds and Paul Schneider for Bright Star received the same number of votes for the category. Usually the NSFC winners don't reflect necessarily the Academy Awards but their members are still respected nonetheless. Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow - The Hurt Locker
Best Actor: Jeremy Renner - The Hurt Locker
Best Actress: Yolande Moreau - Seraphine
Best Supporting Actor (tie): Christoph Waltz - Inglourious Basterds & Paul Schneider - Bright Star
Best Supporting Actress: Mo'Nique - Precious
Best Screenplay: Joel Coen & Ethan Coen - A Serious Man
Best Foreign Language Film: Summer Hours
Best Nonfiction Film: The Beaches of Agnes
Best Cinematography: Christian Berger - The White Ribbon
Best Production Design: Nelson Lowry - Fantastic Mr. Fox

What do you think?

No comments: