Friday, January 1, 2010

Online Film Critics Society Nominations

The OFCS has released their list of nominations recognizing the year's best in film. The Basterds lead the way with eight nominations ant The Hurt Locker received seven so a big year for war dramas. A pleasant surprise though was the nomination for Best Picture for Up so this will boost its chances somewhat to receive a nomination at the Oscars, making it only the second animated film to be honored that way. You'll notice a lot of the nominees in the acting categories aren't exactly pictured as the favorites for the Oscars but they still gave excellent performances, notably Tilda Swinton for Julia, Jackie Earle Haley for Watchmen and Sharlto Copley for District 9. Anthony Mackie could be gaining ground in the Supporting Actor category with the film's success this season and having seen the film a second time, it could happen. Anyway, here is the complete list of nominees:

Best Picture
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
A Serious Man
Up In the Air

Best Director
Kathryn Bigelow - The Hurt Locker
Neill Blomkamp - District 9
James Cameron - Avatar
Joel Coen & Ethan Coen - A Serious Man
Quentin Tarantino - Inglourious Basterds

Best Actor
Jeff Bridges - Crazy Heart
Sharlto Copley - District 9
George Clooney - Up In the Air
Joaquin Phoenix - Two Lovers
Jeremy Renner - The Hurt Locker

Best Actress
Melanie Laurent - Inglourious Basterds
Carey Mulligan - An Education
Gabourey Sidibe - Precious
Meryl Streep - Julie & Julia
Tilda Swinton - Julia

Best Supporting Actor
Peter Capaldi - In the Loop
Jackie Earle Haley - Watchmen
Woody Harrelson - The Messenger
Anthony Mackie - The Hurt Locker
Christoph Waltz - Inglourious Basterds

Best Supporting Actress
Vera Farmiga - Up In the Air
Anna Kendrick - Up In the Air
Diane Kruger - Inglourious Basterds
Mo'Nique - Precious
Julianne Moore - A Single Man

Best Original Screenplay
Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber - (500) Days of Summer
Mark Boal - The Hurt Locker
Quentin Tarantino - Inglourious Basterds
Joel Coen & Ethan Coen - A Serious Man
Bob Peterson - Up

Best Adapted Screenplay
Neill Blomkamp & Terri Tatchell - District 9
Wes Anderson & Noah Baumbach - Fantastic Mr. Fox
Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci & Tony Roche - In the Loop
Jason Reitman & Sheldon Turner - Up In the Air
Spike Jonze & Dave Eggers - Where the Wild Things Are

Best Documentary
Anvil! The Story of Anvil
The Beaches of Agnes
Capitalism: A Love Story
The Cove
Food, Inc.

Best Foreign Language Film
Broken Embraces
Police, Adjective
Silent Light
Summer Hours
The White Ribbon

Best Animated Feature Film
Fantastic Mr. Fox
The Princess and the Frog

Best Cinematography
Mauro Fiore - Avatar
Trent Opaloch - District 9
Barry Ackroyd - The Hurt Locker
Robert Richardson - Inglourious Basterds
Roger Deakins - A Serious Man

Best Original Score
Alexandre Desplat - Fantastic Mr. Fox
Marvin Hamlisch - The Informant!
Michael Giacchino - Star Trek
Michael Giacchino - Up
Carter Burwell & Karen O. - Where the Wild Things Are

Best Editing
Alan Edward Bell - (500) Days of Summer
Steve R. Moore, John Refoua & Stephen Rivkin - Avatar
Julian Clarke - District 9
Chris Innis & Bob Murawski - The Hurt Locker
Sally Menke - Inglourious Basterds

What do you think?

No comments: