Monday, December 21, 2009

Chicago Film Critics Awards

Featuring notably the great Roger Ebert, the Chicago Film Critics have named Kathryn Bigelow's The Hurt Locker as Best Picture of 2009. The film swept the awards picking up 5 including awards for Bigelow, its star Jeremy Renner, its writer Mark Boal and cinematographer Barry Ackroyd as well. There are no real surprises in the other categories so we'll see if the winners will come up on top at the Oscars.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow - The Hurt Locker
Best Actor: Jeremy Renner - The Hurt Locker
Best Actress: Carey Mulligan - An Education
Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz - Inglourious Basterds
Best Supporting Actress: Mo'Nique - Precious
Best Original Screenplay: Mark Boal - The Hurt Locker
Best Adapted Screenplay: Jason Reitman & Sheldon Turner - Up In the Air
Best Foreign Language Film: The White Ribbon
Best Animated Feature Film: Up
Best Documentary: Anvil! The Story of Anvil
Best Cinematographer: Barry Ackroyd - The Hurt Locker
Best Original Score: Michael Giacchino - Up
Most Promising Performer: Carey Mulligan - An Education
Most Promising Filmmaker: Neill Blomkamp - District 9

What do you think?

1 comment:

zip said...

I'm happy with most winners. "The Hurt Locker" was incredible and I'm really happy it's getting the recognition.

Carey Mulligan was really excellent and I particularly enjoyed "An Education", but I feel Meryl Streep's character and performance was a higher caliber and should have won.

I was really disappointed with "Up in the Air". It was boring and George Clooney really doesn't deserve the recognition that he's be getting.

"Anvil" was really good.