Monday, December 14, 2009

New York Film Critics Awards

The Online Critics gave out their awards yesterday as their counterparts from L.A. Today the New York Film Critics Circle agreed with the LAFCA instead of their online critics and awarded their Best Picture award to The Hurt Locker. With an incredible streak going their way, the film is on its way to become the heavy favorite come Oscar night. Unless other films pick up awards in the upcoming ceremonies (including the prestigious Golden Globe Awards for which the nominations will be announced in just under 10 hours), Kathryn Bigelow's latest war film just seems unstoppable at this point, but there's still a long way to go. Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow - The Hurt Locker
Best Actor: George Clooney - Up In the Air & Fantastic Mr. Fox
Best Actress: Meryl Streep - Julie & Julia
Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz - Inglourious Basterds
Best Supporting Actress: Mo'Nique - Precious
Best Screenplay: In the Loop
Best Cinematographer: Christian Berger - The White Ribbon
Best Animated Film: Fantastic Mr. Fox
Best Non-Fiction Film (Documentary): Of Time and the City
Best Foreign Film: Summer Hours
Best First Film: Steve McQueen - Hunger
Special Award: Andrew Sarris

What do you think?

No comments: