Sunday, December 13, 2009

Los Angeles Film Critics Awards

After winning the Boston FCA earlier, The Hurt Locker also won the Los Angeles Film Critics Awards as the winners were announced just now. Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker (Runner-Up: Up In the Air)
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow - The Hurt Locker (Runner-Up: Michael Haneke - The White Ribbon)
Best Actor: Jeff Bridges - Crazy Heart (Runner-Up: Colin Firth - A Single Man)
Best Actress: Yolande Moreau - Seraphine (Runner-Up: Carey Mulligan - An Education)
Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz - Inglourious Basterds (Runner-Up: Peter Capaldi - In the Loop)
Best Supporting Actress: Mo'Nique - Precious (Runner-Up: Anna Kendrick - Up In the Air)
Best Screenplay: Jason Reitman & Sheldon Turner - Up In the Air (Runner-Up: Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci & Tony Roche - In the Loop)
Best Animation: Fantastic Mr. Fox (Runner-Up: Up)
Best Foreign Language Film: Summer Hours (Runner-Up: The White Ribbon)
Best New Generation: Neill Blomkamp - District 9
Best Music/Score: T-Bone Burnett & Stephen Bruton - Crazy Heart (Runner-Up: Alexandre Desplat - Fantastic Mr. Fox)
Best Production Design: Philip Ivey - District 9 (Runner-Up: Rick Carter & Robert Stromberg - Avatar)
Best Cinematography: Christian Berger - The White Ribbon (Runner-Up: Barry Ackroyd - The Hurt Locker)
Best Documentary/Non-Fiction Film (tie): The Beaches of Agnes & The Cove
Douglas E. Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video: Anders Edstrom & C.W. Winter - The Anchorage

A big surprise would be Yolande Moreau for Best Actress as this is the first major award won by the actress. Up's streak may be in jeopardy as Wes Anderson's animated Fox takes the award this time. What do you think?

No comments: