Tuesday, January 8, 2008

DGA Nods/BFCA Wins

Paul Thomas Anderson, There Will Be Blood
Joel and Ethan Coen, No Country for Old Men
Tony Gilroy, Michael Clayton
Sean Penn, Into the Wild
Julian Schnabel, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

The inclusion of Schnabel is a bit surprising, but not really, and the inclusion of Gilroy is just plain shocking. Michael Clayton, if it does well at the other guilds, could easily sneak up and snag a Best Picture spot. The rest is basically as expected. My prediction would go to the Coen brothers. But it's nice to see some surprises here, unlike in the...

Best Picture

No Country for Old Men

Best Actor
Daniel Day-Lewis - There Will Be Blood

Best Actress
Julie Christie - Away From Her

Best Supporting Actor
Javier Bardem - No Country for Old Men

Best Supporting Actress
Amy Ryan - Gone Baby Gone

Best Acting Ensemble

Best Director
Joel Coen and Ethan Coen - No Country for Old Men

Best Writer
Diablo Cody - Juno

Best Animated Feature

Best Young Actor
Ahmad Khan Mahmoodzad - The Kite Runner

Best Young Actress
Nikki Blonksy - Hairspray

Best Comedy Movie

Best Family Film

Best Picture Made for Television
Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee

Best Documentary

Best Foreign Language Film
The Diving Bell and the Butterfly

Best Song
"Falling Slowly", Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova - Once

Best Composer
Jonny Greenwood - There Will Be Blood

These picks are perfectly solid (from what I've seen), but...damn, are they boring.

No comments: