Sunday, January 27, 2008

Joel and Ethan Coen win DGA

Winning for No Country for Old Men, the Coens have become a further lock for Best Director.

"Oh, we get two of them," Ethan Coen said as he and brother Joel were presented with their trophies for outstanding feature film achievement."



AJ said...

Well recent years have showed us that the Director Juggernaut doesn't necessarily mean their movie will win.

Anonymous said...

Wait, what?

the z said...

The only times the DGA winner did not win the Oscar:

1968: Anthony Harvey won DGA for "The Lion in Winter," while Carol Reed won the Oscar for "Oliver!"

1972: DGA - Francis Ford Coppola, "The Godfather"
Oscar - Bob Fosse, "Cabaret"

1986: DGA - Steven Spielberg, "The Color Purple"
Oscar - Sydney Pollack, "Out of Africa"

1995: DGA - Ron Howard, "Apollo 13"
Oscar - Mel Gibson, "Braveheart"

2000: DGA - Ang Lee, "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon"
Oscar - Steven Soderbergh, "Traffic"

2002: DGA - Rob Marshall, "Chicago"
Oscar - Roman Polanski, "The Pianist"

This equals 10% of DGA winners not receiving the Oscar.

NOTE: Speilberg and Howard weren't even nominated for the directing Oscar in 1986 and 1995, respectively.

the z said...


Speilberg won the DGA in 1985.